A guide to Durban and KwaZulu-Natal

27 November 2019

As a region of beautiful nature reserves, fascinating history and spectacular scenery, and within striking distance of the magnificent Drakensberg Mountains, the region of KwaZulu-Natal is one of South Africa’s premier holiday destinations. Formed in 1994, it is located in the southeast of the country, with a long shoreline on the Indian Ocean, sharing borders with three other provinces, as well as the countries of Mozambique, Eswanti and Lesotho.


Although Pietermaritzburg is its capital, its biggest city is Durban, which is also the third-largest in South Africa behind Johannesburg and Cape Town. Durban boasts a wealth of world-class facilities including accommodation, transport and attractions, making it a popular tourist destination.

If you’re thinking of visiting this stunning region of South Africa, we’ve collected some sites, tastes and experiences that are not to be missed.

Click here to read our guide to Durban and KwaZulu-Natal.

Share this:

Travel Counsellors help thousands of people create personal travel experiences they’ll never forget. Start your journey today.
Find your Travel Counsellor
Back To Top